Databases by Subject
Choose a subject area, and the link will take to you the appropriate section on this page. If you do not know where your
subject would fall under, try the general databases or ask a librarian.
For an explanation of the icons by each database, see the bottom of the page.
All databases can be accessed from off-campus, though a few, marked with an * require free registration from an on-campus computer. If you need help, please contact us.
Arguments / Viewpoints / Controversial Issues
^ Back to Top
Arts
^ Back to Top
Biographies
^ Back to Top
Biology
^ Back to Top
Book Reviews
^ Back to Top
Business & Economics
^ Back to Top
Chemistry
^ Back to Top
Computer Science & Information Technology
^ Back to Top
Conferences & Proceedings
^ Back to Top
Culinary Arts & Hospitality Management
^ Back to Top
Directories
^ Back to Top
Education
^ Back to Top
Engineering & Technology
^ Back to Top
Foreign Language Databases
^ Back to Top
General (databases covering a wide variety of topics)
^ Back to Top
Geography, Earth & Environmental Sciences
^ Back to Top
Health & Medicine
^ Back to Top
History
^ Back to Top
Horticulture Technology
^ Back to Top
Humanities - General
^ Back to Top
Law & Government
^ Back to Top
Literature & Language
^ Back to Top
Materials Science
^ Back to Top
Mathematics
^ Back to Top
Music
^ Back to Top
Newspapers
^ Back to Top
Nursing
^ Back to Top
Psychology
^ Back to Top
Reference (almanacs, dictionaries, encyclopedias)
^ Back to Top
Science - General
^ Back to Top
Social Sciences
^ Back to Top
Statistics
^ Back to Top
Icon Legend
Full-text database.
Either all material or at least a portion of material in database is available in full-text.
Help information on searching this database.
VIVA database
subscription (Virtual Library of Virginia - statewide library consortium)
VCCS database
subscription (Virginia Community College System consortium)
Database subscription for JSRCC only (not a VIVA
or VCCS database subscription).
Western Campus Database accessible from JSRCC Western Campus only.
New database
* First time users will need to create an account:
- NetLibrary: Use a computer on campus to create an account. From the initial NetLibrary screen, click on the Create a Free Account link in the upper right corner of the screen.
- Learning Express Library: Register by clicking on New Users from the initial Learning Express screen.
Off-Campus Access
The VCCS library has a page with information on logging into databases from off-campus.